Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GoWYLD!
Subject Guides | Databases A to Z | eLearning | Digital Library | GoWYLD Kids | Students

Information for Libraries: Cloud Library eBooks & Audiobooks

support for GoWYLD resources

cloudLibrary eBooks & Audiobooks

Cloud LibraryThe cloudLibrary is a shared ebook collection available to all Wyoming citizens with a WYLD library card. All Wyoming libraries share the collection and titles are purchased on an ongoing basis. The collection includes bestsellers, high interest fiction, nonfiction and books for readers at all levels and ages. A partnership with the University of Wyoming makes hundreds of additional audiobooks available to all Wyoming library card holders.  The titles in the cloudLibrary are available on a single user license model.

The cloudLibrary works with both PC and Mac operating systems. Multiple types of eReaders and mobile devices also work with the service including Kindle Fire tablets (but not standard Kindles).

The cloudLibrary has been available statewide since July 2012.

Help & Known Issues | Marketing Kit | cloudLibrary product information (vendor site)

Usage Statistics - Current Year

Tracking Audio checkouts begins with FY21.  No library detail is available for format type at this time.

Year Month FY Checkouts eBook Checkouts eAudio Total Checkouts Active Users
2020 July 21 11,543   921 12,464

2,748

2020 Aug 21 11,179 1,637 12,816 2,906
2020 Sept 21 10,652 4,459 15,111 3,601
2020 Oct 21 11,441 8,802 20,243 4,080
Total YTD   43,043 15,819 60,634  

Usage Summaries

All Libraries - Summary by FY
Fiscal Year Total Checkouts Unique Users
FY20 123,559 7,299
FY19 107,246 6,372
FY18 103,197 6,488
FY17 105,876 6,537

Frequently Asked Questions

Who do we contact if a patron is having a problem with the cloudLibrary?
First, make sure that the problem cannot be resolved using the help files made available on the GoWYLD site. If the user is still experiencing problems, please have them contact the State Library for assistance by emailing ebooks@wyo.gov.

Who selects the content and manages the featured book shelves?
The Wyoming State Library and contributing libraries select the cloudLibrary collection's content.

Can my library contribute funds toward the purchase of additional content? Yes, your library can contribute! Please contact Melanie Reedy in the State Library business office for details. If you contribute funds, you may choose to create your own list of materials to purchase or you can elect to allow the State Library to select content for you. In all cases, the titles purchased with funds from each library will be available to all users statewide.

Are cloudLibrary titles in WYLDCAT?
MARC records are not loaded into WYLDCAT because the content is too dynamic to manage effectively. Instead, libraries can search cloudLibrary content using the Enterprise Discovery Catalog which integrates search results for digital content. Patrons are also able to view and manage their digital checkouts in the 'My Account' view.

What devices are compatible with the cloudLibrary?
Apple devices (iPad/iPhone/iPod Touch), Android-based tablets and smartphones, Nooks, Sony eReaders, Kindle Fire tablets, and many more not specifically listed. 

Does the cloudLibrary work with Kindles?
The cloudLibrary works with Kindle Fire devices, but does not work with standard Kindle eReaders such as the Paperwhite.

How many books can people check out and can they be returned early?
Users may check out up to five titles at a time. Books are checked out for 14 days. See more details on the GoWYLD cloudLibrary Information page.

 

Publisher Restrictions

These restrictions apply to content purchased for use on any library platform, including cloudLibrary, and Overdrive, etc.

Blackstone Audio - 90 day embargo on select digital audio

Hachette - 24 month expiration (for titles purchased after 7/1/2019) Perpetual access for titles purchased earlier. Includes digital audio.
Hachette, Grand Central, Little Brown. See all imprints

HarperCollins - 26 checkouts per title
Avon, Harper, William Morrow. See all imprints

Macmillan - 52 checkouts or 24 months whichever comes first.
  New frontlist restrictions as of November 1, 2019: 1 copy per library system in the first 8 weeks post-pub date with perpetual access; additional copies available with 2 year or 52 checkout metered licensing 8 weeks after pub date. Titles older than one year (backlist) also metered at 2 years or 52 checkouts. Note that this embargo was suspended due to COVID-19.
 Macmillan, Henry Holt, Farrar Straus & Giroux, St. Martins, Tor. See all imprints

Penguin Random House Publishing Group - 24 month license after Oct 1, 2018. Perpetual access for all purchases before October 1, 2018. *PRH modified licensing in response to COVID-19 to offer lower priced licenses for a 1 year term.
Includes Penguin, Putnam, Viking, Dorling Kindersley (DK). See all imprints

Scholastic - Expires 2 years from date of purchase

Simon & Schuster - 24 month license after 8/1/2019. Includes digital audio
Includes Scribner, Atria, Simon & Schuster. See all imprints

Embed a Shelf

Promote the cloudLibrary - embed a featured shelf on any web page!

To show a featured shelf on any web page, go to the cloudLibrary (https://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/wyominglibraries/Featured) web app and select 'list view' for any shelf.

  • Copy the URL in the address bar of the browser
  • Change the word 'Featured' in the URL to 'EmbeddableTray'
  • Create an iFrame on any web page using the edited URL as the target source

 

Example - New this month

 

This code will display the featured shelf below:
<iframe src="https://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/wyominglibraries/EmbeddableTray/41bd1db9c9bb4b3cb884c985c336c6f9" width="90%" height="300" style="border:none;"> </iframe>

 

©2000-2020; The Wyoming State Library

Your library may license resources not listed here. Please check with your local library for a complete list of available resources.

Contact us | About | Libraries | Help