Skip to main content
GoWYLD!
Subject Guides & Tutorials | GoWYLD home | Digital Content

Information for Libraries: RBdigital Audiobooks, eBooks, & Magazines

support for GoWYLD resources

RBdigital Audiobooks, eBooks & Magazines

RBDigital is a digital content service which gives Wyoming library users access to audiobooks, digital magazines, and free classic ebooks through the Recorded Books company. 

RBdigital includes:

  • Audiobooks in the Recorded Books Unlimited Subscription - licensed for simultaneous use and updated quarterly
  • Bestselling, single-user licensed titles - purchased monthly.
  • Free classic ebooks subscription - licensed for simultaneous access.
  • More than 100 digital magazines - licensed for simultaneous access and can be checked out indefinitely

RBDigital Unlimited Subscription

All titles from Christian Audio, Gildan Media, HighBridge, Tantor Audio, and any titles from Recorded Books publishing that are 6 months old or older are included in the Unlimited Access model.  Newer Recorded Books titles less than six months old are available for single user licensing.  Each month, titles will be added to the Unlimited subscription as they age out of the embargo.

All content previously included in the Recorded Books Adult subscription and the Children's & Young Adults subscription are included in the RB Unlimited package.

More Information

Link for your library's website

*Users do not have to log in to browse content. However, they must have an account to checkout and download files. Users must have a library card and PIN to create a new account.

RBD logo
Re-use this image to link to RBDigital resources.

The widget below will display the top five featured RB Digital titles on any webpage - just copy this code:
<iframe src="https://featured.rbdigital.com/Featured/Index?libraryKey=51713690-9CB0-4441-94CA-47B506A11F31" width="125" height="379" frameborder="0"></iframe>

Loading ...

Statistics

RBDigital Audiobooks - Fiscal Year Usage Summary
FY Owned CYA Adult Sub eBooks Total Downloads
FY19 61,095 12,996 62,421   879 137,391
FY18 65,185 14,468 47,377 1,090 128,110
FY17 56,045 11,406 39,572 1,208 108,231
FY16 50,803 12,377 43,822 1,327 108,329
Reports with library detail
Total Monthly Downloads
Month/Year Total Downloads
September 2019 14,832
August 2019 14,777
July 2019 14,767
June 2019 13,818
May 2019 13,453
April 2019 12,242
March 2019 11,538
February 2019 10,481
January 2019 11,298

 

Loading ...

Frequently Asked Questions

Who do we contact if a patron is having a problem with RBdigital?
Toll-free support is available at 877-77-AUDIO (877-772-8346). Live support is available Monday through Friday, from 7:30 AM until 6:00 PM EST. You can also click on Help on the RB Digital website and then click on the Submit a Ticket tab to fill in a form describing the problems. Or send an email to support@recordedbooks.com
If contacting RBdigital support directly is not effective, please contact the State Library for assistance by emailing ebooks@wyo.gov.

What devices are compatible with RBdigital?
Apple devices (iPad/iPhone/iPod Touch), Android-based tablets and smartphones, Nooks, Sony eReaders, Kindle Fire tablets, and many more not specifically listed. 

Will RBdigital work with Kindles?
RBdigital works with Kindle Fire devices, but does not work with standard Kindle eReaders such as the Paperwhite.

Who selects the content?
The Wyoming State Library and contributing libraries select single user (purchased) titles. More than 28,000 titles in the collection are subscription based, and RBdigital adds titles on a monthly basis. Libraries sponsor the subscriptions for many of the magazines in the digital magazine collection.

How is RBdigital funded?
The State Library funds the platform fees for RBDigital as well as the subscription to the Recorded Books Unlimited collection. The State Library and several public libraries partner to provide funds for the single user licensed titles. Subscription content is updated on a monthly basis.

Are RBdigital titles in WYLDCAT?
RBdigital content can be found in WYLDcat by searching the digital library or using facets to limit searches to the eaudiobook format (terminology may vary from library to library). Patrons are also able to view and manage their digital checkouts in the 'My Account' view. Digital magazine content is not yet integrated into WYLDcat, so links to high interest magazines have been added as hyperlinks in existing MARC records in WYLD.

Where are usage statistics?
Review the usage reports in the box labeled 'statistics' in this guide.  Select the tab for either audiobook usage or magazine usage.  For individual libraries, we show the number of circulations by library based on matching the patron's library card number with their home library affiliation in WYLD.  The authentication method was changed to require a library card number in July 2018, so usage prior to that time can be determined by the patron's self-reported ZIP code only.

Publisher Restrictions - Licensing Notes

These restrictions apply to content purchased for use on any library platform, including CloudLibrary, RBDigital, Overdrive, etc.

Blackstone Audio - 90 day embargo on select digital audio

Hachette - 24 month expiration (for titles purchased after 7/1/2019) Perpetual access for titles purchased earlier. Includes digital audio.
Hachette, Grand Central, Little Brown. See all imprints

HarperCollins - 26 checkouts per title
Avon, Harper, William Morrow. See all imprints

Macmillan - 52 checkouts or 24 months whichever comes first.
  New frontlist restrictions as of November 1, 2019: 1 copy per library system in the first 8 weeks post-pub date with perpetual access; additional copies available with 2 year or 52 checkout metered licensing 8 weeks after pub date. Titles older than one year (backlist) also metered at 2 years or 52 checkouts.
 Macmillan, Henry Holt, Farrar Straus & Giroux, St. Martins, Tor. See all imprints

Penguin Random House Publishing Group - 24 month license after Oct 1, 2018. Perpetual access for all purchases before October 1, 2018.
Includes Penguin, Putnam, Viking, Dorling Kindersley (DK). See all imprints

Scholastic - Expires 2 years from date of purchase

Simon & Schuster - 24 month license after 8/1/2019. Includes digital audio
Includes Scribner, Atria, Simon & Schuster. See all imprints

Brought to you by the Wyoming State Library

About GoWYLD | Contact us | Libraries