Wyoming Legislation

•   Wyoming Legislation digital collection

The Wyoming Legislation digital collection is a partnership between the Wyoming State Library, Wyoming State Archives, and the Wyoming Legislative Service Office.  The database contains over 76,000 digitized records that span a wide range of Wyoming history, from territorial days to the present.  These digitized records create a robust collection of Wyoming Legislative history that includes Wyoming Territorial and State House and Senate Journals, Bills, Bill Actions, Enrolled Acts, Session Laws, and Session Audio files.  Funding was provided by the Wyoming State Legislature.    

Legislative Journals (1869-Present)

The Legislative Journals are daily records of the events and actions taken by the Wyoming Territorial, and later, State House and Senate.  They provide a detailed account on the actions taken on each bill and any representative actions taken during the Legislative Session.  Information found in the Journals includes the names of Bill Sponsors and Co-Sponsors, names of Legislative Committees, dates and types of actions taken, text of all Bill Amendments, all Roll Call votes taken on Bills, Legislature statements on various Bills, Conference Committee actions, and Governor actions.    

House and Senate Bills (1869 – 2000)

The digitized bills begin with the first Territorial Legislative Session that was convened in 1869.  Bills that both passed and failed during the Legislative Sessions are included.  Bills from 2001 to the present can be found on the Wyoming Legislative Service Office website ( https://www.wyoleg.gov/Legislation/archives ). 

Bill Actions (1957-2000)

Bill Actions are timelines of each bill and show their progressive from being introduced on the House or Senate floor to their passage or failure during a Legislative Session.  They include information on actions that are taken for each legislative bill, and also contain information regarding how Wyoming Representatives voted on various bills. 

Enrolled Act (1869 – 2014) 

Enrolled Acts are the final copy of a bill or resolution that was passed by both the State House and Senate during a Legislative Session. 

Session Laws (1869 – Present)

Session Laws are records of the Bills that were passed during that particular Session. The Session Laws contain the final wording of the bills and included any changes or amendments that were passed for the bills final passage. 

Session Audio (1997 – Present)

Session Audio files are the daily recordings of the events and actions taken on the State House and Senate Chamber floors.  The Session Audio files are divided into recording files for individual days.  The State Senate audio files begin in 1997 and continue to the present.  The State House audio files begin in 1996 and continue to the present.