School Library Handbook

This handbook was created to provide Wyoming school librarians and library staff with information about librarianship in Wyoming. It includes sections covering library policies, community relationships, services and support available from the Wyoming State Library, continuing education opportunities, statewide electronic resources, and introductions to essential library collection development and maintenance tasks.

This handbook is a constant work in progress. Pages will be added or replaced as issues affecting education and school libraries occur. If additional topics arise that should be covered, please contact Paige Bredenkamp at the Wyoming State Library so action can be taken to develop the appropriate information.

Since this publication is not the sole resource for information about library management, School Librarians and staff are encouraged to contact their peers at other schools in other districts or staff at the Wyoming State Library (WSL) for assistance in understanding the issues dealt with daily.

This is not a legal document and each school district has its own rules and procedures. Whether you are a veteran teacher or are new to the education/library landscape, this handbook is designed to help you in your role as school librarian. We hope you will find useful information in these pages.

The school library community in Wyoming is a great resource for information, advice, encouragement, and fresh ideas. You can connect with anyone by using the Wyoming Libraries Directory on the WSL website (https://library.wyo.gov/using-the-library/directory/). You may also sign up for the School Librarian listserv by contacting Paige Bredenkamp at the WSL. The Wyoming Library Association School Library Interest Group (SLIG) also has a Facebook group, which you can find by typing in “Wyoming librarians” in the FB search bar. Facebook and Twitter are two great ways to connect with WY school librarians when distance is an issue.

Other news channels from the WSL include:

• The WSL blog – library.wyo.gov/news
• The Outrider monthly newsletter — library.wyo.gov/news/newsletter
• Twitter – twitter.com/WyoLibraries
• Facebook – www.facebook.com/wyominglibraries
• The all@wyldnetwork.org listserv. Sign up at library.wyo.gov/wyld/support/email  or contact the state library to be added to the list