Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GoWYLD!
Subject Guides   |   Databases A to Z   |   eLearning   |   Digital Library   |   GoWYLD Kids   |   Students

Announcements

Audio of Poetry--sources in GoWYLD.net

by Chris Van Burgh on 2022-04-20T13:42:01-06:00 | Comments

Listening to a poem lets you experience it as the poet may have intended.  Maybe it will make it less intimidating. Or, just more enjoyable.

There are two resources in GoWYLD.net that let you listen to poetry: Poets on Screen and Poetry Archive Audio. Both in Literature Online (LION) or ProQuest Learning: Literature.

To locate, go to Literature under Subject on GoWYLD.net and then select LION.You can also select Poetry on the left to find a direct link to these two audio poetry sources.

 Scrolling the main page you will find a search box, boxes that have links to Criticism, Primary Texts and Reference Works, followed by Frequently Viewed Authors, and then links for Poetry Audio Archive and Poets on Screen. 

In Poetry Archive Audio, you will find historical recordings (like on a wax cylinder!) and more contemporary poets. To search for a specific poet in Poetry Archive Audio, go to the Advance Search and enter name in second search box and change from Anywhere to Author.

btw-the wax cylinder recording was created in 1890 and is of Tennyson reading “Charge of the Light Brigade.”

For more information, about the databases, training, or marketing materials, please contact Chris Van Burgh, Wyoming State Library Database Instruction Librarian, chris.vanburgh@wyo.gov


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...

 

©2000-2022; The Wyoming State Library

Your library may license resources not listed here. Please check with your local library for a complete list of available resources.

Contact us | About | Libraries | Help