Subject Guides & Tutorials: Business &amp; Nonprofit Resources: Wyoming Nonprofit Resources

Let's Get Started

Guide to Starting a Charitable Nonprofit in Wyoming
Compiled by the Wyoming Nonprofit Network.
Wyoming Nonprofit Network Resources
Includes general resources for starting a nonprofit in Wyoming, state and federal compliance, advocacy, grant resources, technology, and popular nonprofit blogs.
Candid: Intro to Finding Grants (55 minutes)
Are you new to the field of grantseeking?
Discover what funders are looking for in nonprofits seeking grants and how to find potential funders in this introductory course.
You will learn the 10 most important things you need to know about finding grants, including:
~Who funds nonprofits and what are their motivations.
~What do funders really want to know about the organizations they are interested in funding.
~How do you identify potential funders and make the first approach.

NOTE: This orientation is not intended for individuals seeking grants for their own use.
Candid: Intro to Foundation Directory (27 minutes)
Learn how to use Foundation Directory, the most comprehensive prospect research tool for fundraisers, with over 239,000+ grantmaker profiles. You will learn how to search for grantmakers who have funded organizations working on causes and with communities similar to those you serve.

NOTE: This overview is for nonprofit organizations looking for funding. It is not geared to individuals seeking grants. We recommend you watch the free 55 minute video (listed above), Introduction to Finding Grants.
Candid: Grantseeking Basics for Individuals in the Arts
If you are an individual involved in the creative arts and looking for funding to complete a project, mount an exhibition, put on a performance, or anything else arts-related, Grantseeking Basics for Individuals in the Arts will show you how to:
~Identify funders supporting individual artists
~Explore the option of fiscal sponsorship
~Create a step-by-step plan to find funding for your needs as an individual grantseeker

Candid. How do I get a grant?
Not sure where to start? Use Candid's flowchart to help find your way.
Foundation Directory Research Worksheet
Before beginning your research in Foundation Directory, get started by outlining your
program’s/organization’s subject area(s), population group(s), geographic focus, and
support strategy/transaction type.
Foundation Directory Classification Terms
Terms used by Candid for population, subject, support strategy, and transaction type.

Nonprofit Databases

Foundation Directory

Get the most comprehensive and up-to-date knowledge and insight on the social sector to fuel any fundraising mission. With expanded, in-depth profiles of each grantmaker, you will have an inside look at the grants they have actually made. Use these valuable insights to determine which funders to prioritize. In library use only - main library in each county plus the Wyoming State Library
Foundation Grants to Individuals

Grants to Individuals (GTI) includes profiles of 10,000 grantmakers with details on funders that provide scholarships, fellowships, grants, and a wide range of financial support to individuals such as students and artists. In library use only - main library in each county, plus the Wyoming State Library

Foundation Maps Professional
In library use only - at the following county libraries: Campbell, Fremont, Laramie, Natrona, Park, and Sweetwater.

more... less...

Foundation Maps Professional offers state-of-the-art data visualization features to support the most sophisticated searches. Advance your work with funding insights, trends and opportunities to maximize your impact.
*Funded through Dec 2023 by the Wyoming Community Foundation.

GuideStar

Access 2 million+ nonprofit with the most comprehensive source of nonprofit information. Community members can easily find local nonprofits where they can donate, work, or volunteer and connect those in need to resources they rely on. Nonprofits can attract donors by updating the organization’s nonprofit profile. In library use only - main library in each county, plus the Wyoming State Library.
LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals.
Libby
Enjoy thousands of eBooks, eAudiobooks, and digital magazines with Libby by OverDrive. Log in with your Wyoming public or community college library card.

Adding Candid Library to existing Wyoming Virtual Library Libby acct.
How to instructions

Candid Community

Candid Learning
Explore the easy-to-use resource collections including Candid’s live and on-demand trainings and webinars, knowledge-base articles, blogs, sample documents and more. Get up-to-date information and guidance to support confident decision-making for social good.

*Candid Learning accounts are separate from any other Candid account. Create a unique Candid Learning login and password to access these resources anytime, anywhere.
Candid Learning for Funders
GrantCraft is now Candid Learning for Funders. Combining the practical wisdom of funders worldwide with our expertise.
Issue Lab
Issue Lab provides the data, resources, examples, and action steps foundations need to understand the value of transparency, be more open in their own communications, and help shed more light on how private organizations are serving the public good.
Philanthropy News Digest (PND)
Philanthropy News Digest (PND), a daily news service of Candid, is a compendium of philanthropy-related articles and features culled from print and electronic media outlets nationwide. It also features requests for proposals and job listings.
Candid: YouTube Channel
Candid is a nonprofit dedicated to making the nonprofit world more accessible and effective. Candid gets you the information you need to do good.