Business & Nonprofit Resources

Wyoming Secretary of State The Business and UCC Center offers online business services; how to start and maintain your Wyoming business; information on Commercial Registered Agents (CRA) and UCC/EFS/Buyer Registrations; and FAQ's.

SCORE Offers free counseling to both start-up and existing small businesses. Counselors are volunteers who have a wide range of small business experience and mentoring skills.

Small Business Administration (SBA), Wyoming District Office Provides extensive online resources, including a Wyoming business training calendar. Coordinates programming and consulting services along with partner agencies (PTAC, SBDC, SCORE and WWBC).

Wyoming Community Navigator The Wyoming Community Navigator program mobilizes and leverages the Wyoming entrepreneurial support network to reduce barriers all small businesses, including those owned by groups such as veterans, women, and those from rural communities and communities of color often face in accessing capital and technical assistance. Through collective efforts, the program provides training, mentorship, access to capital, and access to other resources to help business owners build resiliency, and ultimately be the driving force behind Wyoming's economic recovery.

Wyoming Library to Business Wyoming Library to Business is a business-focused, community driven and completely free resource, based in your local library! Our goal is to connect Wyoming entrepreneurs and business owners with a curated network of business experts, resources to learn new skills, and the tools to succeed at every stage.

Wyoming Small Business Development Centers (SBDC) Start-ups and existing businesses can schedule a time to meet with a certified advisor at a regional office or work with a counselor remotely. Areas of specialization include assisting with writing/reviewing business and marketing plans, accessing the financial health of a business, business valuation, international trade, website development and optimization, social media, and ecommerce among other topics.

Wyoming Women's Business Center (WWBC) The WWBC mission is to enable and empower Wyoming entrepreneurs. The WWBC assists entrepreneurs, especially women who are economically or socially disadvantaged, through counseling, training, and micro-finance programs to start or expand small businesses in the state of Wyoming. We strive to advance financial self-sufficiency by promoting economic justice and equality throughout the state.

In addition, Works of Wyoming (WOW), a project of the WWBC, was created for artists to increase their business knowledge as well as enhance their visibility. 

Check out the Business Resource Locator tool to view local small business resources, such as advisors, local chambers of commerce, economic development organizations, and downtown associations. Or select the Statewide Resources button to explore governmental resources available throughout Wyoming. This project was developed by the Wyoming Small Business Development Center (SBDC) Network and funded through a Cooperative Agreement with U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) funds appropriated by Congress through the CARES Act.

The Choice is Yours Definitions, general characteristics, advantages, disadvantages, and tax implications for Wyoming business entities (Sole Proprietorship, Limited Liability Company (LLC), Corporation, and more.) Information provided by the Wyoming Secretary of State’s office.

How to Create a Wyoming Company Step-by-step business creation information provided by the Wyoming Secretary of State’s office.

Licensing and Permitting in Wyoming FAQ’s, Licensing and Permitting Guide, Checklist and Informational Worksheet provided by the Wyoming Business Council.

Rural Entrepreneurship Center A virtual center created by the University of Wyoming Extension includes educational videos with ability to stream 24/7, online chat features for interactive engagement with experts, and networking with fellow aspiring and existing business owners. The site focuses on three areas of emphasis: agriculture, food, and youth. The website provides information on agricultural topics such as raising chickens, direct marketing for beef and lamb, and bee-keeping tips. It also includes topics on cottage food laws in Wyoming and information on starting a youth enterprise.

SENTINEL - Ground Based Strategic Deterrent The United State Air Force is in the process of updating its current weapon system called the Minuteman III Intercontinental Ballistic Missile (ICBM) weapon system with LGM-35A SENTINEL Missile, a Ground Based Strategic Deterrent (GBSD) weapon system. This is the moderization of the ICBMs which are currently maintained and operated by the 90th Missile Wing at FE Warren Air Force Base. America is investing $86 billion into this upgrade and the Air Force has chosen Northrop Grumman as the primary contractor. Northrop Grumman is committed to ensuring that capable businesses of all types receive meaningful subcontracting opportunities with Northrop Grumman.

ShopWyoming.com This e-commerce platform is specifically designed to help Wyoming small businesses market and sell their products to local and national customers. The objective of this site is to help small businesses launch an e-commerce presence that will reach current customers, find new customers, and increase sales volume and profit. Sponsored by the Wyoming Small Business Development Center (SBDC) and funded by the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) through the CARES Act.

Workforce Development Training Fund (WDTF) The WDTF is a unique Wyoming-based program connecting employers with professional development opportunities to increase employee skill attainment. These funding opportunities include Business Training Grants, Pre-Hire Grants, Internship Grants, and Apprenticeship Grants.

Wyoming Economic Analysis Division - The Economic Analysis Division serves as the lead agency fo the Wyoming State Data Center (SDC) program. The SDC is a partnership with the U.S. Census Bureau to disseminate Census data and provide assistance. It is the official source of demographic, economic, and social statistics produced by the Census Bureau. The extensive data library includes federal, state, and county information on income, employment, demographics, population, and more.

This list is not all inclusive. Find a group we missed? Let us know!

CyberWyoming The Cyber Readiness Program, created by the Cyber Readiness Institute, is distributed by CyberWyoming (a nonprofit) at no charge to small businesses. It creates a cyber-leader in every office and includes supporting materials for that leader including communication tools, policy templates, incident response plan templates, cloud decision-making tool, workforce pledge, metrics to measure progress, and tips and guidance for program roll-out.

gBETA  gBETA is a program of nationally ranked startup accelerator gener8tor. gBETA is a free, seven-week accelerator for early-stage companies with local roots. Each program is capped at five teams, and requires no fees and no equity. During the program, companies meet with the gBETA team twice a week for an hour each to refine their business model, meet mentors, strategize their growth, gain customer traction and pitch investors.

IMPACT 307 IMPACT 307 is a network of innovation-driven business incubators committed to growing and strengthening Wyoming’s entrepreneurial community by providing resources and support for business founders to thrive. IMPACT 307 offers programs including incubation, business mentorship, the Start-Up Challenges and Launch Pads, plus so much more! All IMPACT 307 services and counsel is free. 

Laramie County Library System’s L2B (Library to Business) Service A designated Business Services Coordinator offers free one-on-one consultations and exclusive online resources to assist in: starting, expanding, or exiting your business; discovering a new career path; developing skills using specialized computer programs; locating nonprofit grants and learning techniques for fundraising, volunteer recruitment, or board management; exploring money management resources.

Manufacturing-Works Provides assistance to manufacturers and technically oriented businesses including full business assessments, leadership training, lean manufacturing, lean office, human resources program development, plant layout and design, inventory tracking and control. The first 8 hours of consulting per year are free to qualified clients. Affiliated with the National Innovation Marketplace.

Market Research Center (MRC) Offers a no-cost research service to assist new and established businesses understand and quantify their customers and competitors. In addition, the MRC does industry research, SEO analyses and compiles and analyzes GIS data. Part of the Wyoming SBDC Network.

Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC) The Wyoming State Library is a United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) designated Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC). As the only PTRC in Wyoming, the Library provides free access to patent and trademark resources in various formats. Library staff can assist with general questions and provide assistance and instruction in the use of patent and trademark resources. We offer a designated workstation that provides access to the USPTO Web-based Search Systems, PubEast and PubWest databases.

Taxpayer Advocate Service The Taxpayer Advocate Service (TAS) is an independent organization within the IRS and is your voice at the IRS. Our job is to ensure that every taxpayer is treated fairly, and that you know and understand your rights as a taxpayer. We offer free help to guide you through the often-confusing process of resolving tax problems that you haven't been able to solve on your own. TAS can help if you can't resolve your problem with the IRS and:

• Your problem is causing financial difficulties for you, your family, or your business.
• You face (or your business is facing) an immediate threat of adverse action.
• You've tried repeatedly to contact the IRS but no one has responded to you, or the IRS hasn't responded by the date promised.

U.S. Dept. of Agriculture (USDA) Rural Development USDA Rural Development Business Programs provide financial backing and technical assistance to stimulate business creation and growth. The programs work through partnerships with public and private community based organizations and financial institutions to provide financial assistance, business development, and technical assistance to rural businesses. These programs help to provide capital, equipment, space, job training, and entrepreneurial skills that can help to start and/or grow a business.  Business Programs also support the creation and preservation of quality jobs in rural areas.

Veterans Business Outreach Center (VBOC) The VBOC program is designed to provide entrepreneurial development services such as business training, counseling and resource partner referrals to transitioning service members, veterans, National Guard & Reserve members and military spouses interested in starting or growing a small business.

Wyoming APEX Accelerator (formerly Wyoming Procurement Technical Assistance Center - PTAC) Helps businesses navigate the ins and outs of marketing their products or services to state and federal agencies through government contracting. Can also provide clients, upon request, with a free, online matching service that sends daily email notices about relevant contracting opportunities. Part of the Wyoming SBDC Network.

Wyoming Business Council (WBC) Created by the State of Wyoming to focus public and private efforts to build a strong job creation base in the new economy with manufacturing and technology as core competencies while strengthening the existing business and industry groups. Key programs include: helping communities develop and thrive, recruiting new businesses to the state, helping established business and agricultural operations improve and working with residents and businesses to become more energy efficient. 

Wyoming Capital Access (WCA) (formerly WIDC•Frontier CDC) provides guidance and access to government-related loan programs, as alternative business financing options, for Wyoming lenders and Wyoming small businesses. WCA strengthens communities across the State be providing low interest financing to expanding small businesses and innovative entrepreneurs.

Wyoming SBIR/STTR Initiative Assists qualified Wyoming small businesses and individuals in accessing funds available through the federal Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) and Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR) programs. Part of the Wyoming SBDC Network.

Wyoming Smart Capital Network (WSCN) The WSCN creates jobs by helping businesses access capital. WSCN offers resources to bridge the gap between what a borrower needs and where a bank is comfortable lending. The capital access program and funds are a statewide resource that allows more Wyoming small businesses to startup or expand operations.

Wyoming Workforce Services The Wyoming Department of Workforce Services is committed to facilitating the growth of employers throughout Wyoming. Whether expanding your business, hiring new employees, accessing Workers' Compensation, or exploring safety issues, Workforce Services has the means by which to help your business move in the right direction.