Subject Guides & Tutorials: History Resources: Wyoming History

Wyoming History Collections

Discover the stories that formed Wyoming. Browse or search the more than 900,000 newspaper pages converted from microfilm to a digital format. All text is searchable, including news articles, news briefs, obituaries and other items of interest.

Wyoming Places

Wyoming Places allows users to discover information about the origin of the name of a place, a brief history of that place and stories about it. This project uses original sources as well as published sources in the public domain. Places with a latitude and longitude will appear on the Wyoming map.

Exhibits

Heart Mountain Japanese-American WWII Internment Camp Exhibit
Created by Wyoming State Library.
The Heart Mountain Relocation Center, located between Powell and Cody in Wyoming, was constructed in the summer of 1942 to confine Japanese-Americans during World War II.
Wyoming Statehood Celebration Exhibit
This online exhibit takes us back to that great day to explore the event through newspapers, distinguished people, the speeches, and the other documents. A great day indeed.
Created by Wyoming State Library.
Wyoming Prisoner of War Camps
During WWII, thousands of Italian and German POW’s were transferred to the United States due to overcrowding conditions in Allied Prisoner of War Camps (POW Camps) in Europe. In September 1942, the United States created the American Internment Program with the intention of accommodating over 50,000 Italian and German POW’s. From 1942 to 1946, Wyoming established nineteen large and smaller branch POW Camps. This guide focuses on the significant impact the Italian and German POW camps had on Wyoming history, and the history of WWII.

More Wyoming History

WyoHistory.org
A project of the Wyoming State Historical Society.
The mission of WyoHistory.org is to encourage exploration of Wyoming and its past by building and maintaining a permanent, interactive encyclopedia of Wyoming history as an ongoing project of the Wyoming State Historical Society.
Wyoming Secretary of State's Students Corner
Download the student packet for quizzes, maps, games, wildlife tracks, and much more. Learn about the Great Seal of Wyoming, state symbols, and the score for the state song!
American Heritage Center
The AHC is responsible for maintaining the University of Wyoming's Archives, and for collecting, preserving, and disseminating the historical documentation of select aspects of cultural heritage
Wyoming State Archives
Request documents & photos, explore special collections, genealogical resources, oral history, and plan your visit.
See below for topic guides from the Archives.

Wyoming State Museum online exhibits
Suffrage Wyoming
Quillwork
and more

Exhibits from the Wyoming State Library

Local History

Albany County-Local history and genealogy
Includes obituary index and Albany County Oral History Project
Campbell County Library - local genealogy links
Converse County Library Obituary Index
Johnson County History & Genealogy
Laramie County Genealogy & Family History
Niobrara County Library Genealogy
Includes obituaries, birth records and cemetery records
Platte County Library Historical Archives
Wheatland Cemetery Directory and Gravesite Photos
Sheridan County Fulmer Public Library Wyoming Room
This collection includes yearbooks, homestead maps, and oral histories, obituaries and birth records.
Wyoming Pioneer Association
By name, county, occupation (cow puncher, stockman, newspaperman, barber, soldier, etc)
Wyoming Pioneers, listed 1914
"Old Timer's Roster" WY Pioneers registered at the State Fair at Douglas, 1941