Wyoming Court Records: Getting Started

The most common is a case file.  Case files are found in district courts, probate courts, and the Supreme Court and Court of Appeals.  You must have a case file number to locate a case file. 

Many courts also created indexes, registers of action, minute books, dockets, and judgment books.  Other court record types include:

• Naturalization records documenting the citizenship process
• Coroner's records
• Business name records
• Land records
• Registration and certificate records
• Miscellaneous records

Determine if the case is a state or federal case 

Wyoming district courts hear cases under Wyoming law and have broad trial jurisdiction, so they are usually a good place to start. In addition, many of the criminal cases heard by the more localized justice of the peace and municipal courts had their sentences filed with or reviewed by the district courts.

If an accused is charged with a violation of federal law, that case will be heard in a federal court. The Wyoming State Archive does not have records of the federal courts. Those records are at the National Archives.

Determine which type of Wyoming court had jurisdiction over a case

• District Court
• Circuit Court/Justice of the Peace Courts
• Municipal Court
• Supreme Court

Determine where the records are held

• Not all court records have been or will be transferred to the Wyoming State Archive. Existing records not held by the Wyoming State Archives are held by their respective county courts.
• Generally, court records are sent to the Wyoming State Archives on a voluntary basis, many courts keep their own records. Check with the court first, then check with the State Archives.

Case file - File containing all documents filed in a case. Generally does not include trial transcripts. Case files are organized by the number of the case assigned by the court.

Defendant - Person or party who is sued in a civil case or accused in a criminal case.

Docket - Summary of proceedings in a case. May be part of a docket book or set of docket records.

Judgment - The official decision of a court.

Plaintiff - The person or party who starts a lawsuit. Plaintiff is a more historical term found in records at the Wyoming State Archives. The modern term is petitioner.

• Wyoming Judicial Branch

Website for the Wyoming Judicial branch with information about its courts and history

• Wyoming State Law Library

The Wyoming State Law Library is located in the lower level of the Wyoming Supreme Court.
2301 Capitol Avenue
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: (307) 777-7509
Fax: (307) 777-7240
Email: library@courts.state.wy.us

• Wyoming Blue Book: an Encyclopedia of Wyoming State Government History

The Judicial Branch of the Wyoming State Government is made up of the courts in the state. This branch is tasked with the interpretation and application of the laws of the state.

How do I find information about my divorce?

• Do you need divorce certificate?
• Do you need divorce decree or other court record?

How do I find information about my court case?

How do I find information about probate?