Skip to Main Content
GoWYLD!
Subject Guides   |   Databases A to Z   |   eLearning   |   Digital Library   |   GoWYLD Kids   |   Students

Wyoming Court Records: Municipal Court Records

Looking for a copy of your divorce decree, a probate record, or a civil or criminal case file? Did the legal action happen in Wyoming? If so, perhaps we can help.

About Municipal Courts

Municipal courts operate in all incorporated cities and towns. Their jurisdiction covers all ordinance violations, but they have no civil jurisdiction. A municipal court judge may assess penalties of up to $750 and/or six months in jail. Municipal court judges are generally appointed by the mayor with the consent of the municipal council. The municipality sets their terms. Most municipal judges are part-time positions and many are lawyers.

Interior of courtroom, Judge Riner presiding, Stimson photo WSA, Sub Neg 17492

Municipal Court Records

Municipal Court hears offenses against ordinances within the incorporated city or town, such as:

  • driving under the influence (DUI)
  • assault or fighting
  • drinking under age
  • drug use
  • parking and traffic offenses (speeding, running a red light, driving while under the influence of alcohol, etc.)
  • prostitution
  • public intoxication
  • vagrancy

Defendants may be juvenile or adult offenders.

The primary record is a docket. In a volume, the docket entry will provide the name, date of arrest, and charge, and decision. Some courts have a docket sheet which provides the same information, but the citation and other supporting documentation may be attached to it. Formats and information details vary from city to city. Most post-1970 records are not indexed. For inquiries about individuals arrested after 1970, docket numbers must be obtained from the respective municipal court.

Accessing Municipal Court Records

To access a file, a case number is required. The State Archives has indexes from a few municipal courts, justice of the peace courts, district courts, and Supreme Court. If the Archives does not have the index from a particular court, patrons should contact the court where the case was filed to obtain a case file number.

Not all court records have been or will be transferred to the Wyoming State Archives. Existing records not held by the Wyoming State Archives are held by their respective county courts.

  1. You can find up to date contact information for Wyoming courts on the Wyoming Supreme Court’s website. 
  2. Then contact us.

 

©2000-2023; The Wyoming State Library

Your library may license resources not listed here. Please check with your local library for a complete list of available resources.

Contact us | About | Libraries | Help